Skip to Main Content

Business Leader Award (Toronto)

The Ivey Business Leader Award, co-chaired by Darin Deschamps, HBA ’87, and Mark Whitmore, MBA ’91, is presented annually at a black-tie dinner at Toronto's Ritz-Carlton Hotel. The Award, founded in 1991, honours individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of business in Canada and have demonstrated leadership in both business and their communities. Proceeds from the annual event support scholarships for outstanding Ivey students. Special thanks to our 2019 sponsors.

Media Release (January 2019)

Peter Gilgan Named Ivey Business Leader of the Year

Peter Gilgan

Peter Gilgan, Chairman and CEO of Mattamy Asset Management, and noted Canadian philanthropist, will receive the Ivey Business Leader Award. He will address Canada’s most prominent business leaders at an annual gala dinner in Toronto on October 3, 2019.

Gilgan founded Mattamy Homes in 1978, overseeing the company’s strategic direction and growth into North America’s largest privately-owned homebuilder, with more than 100,000 homes sold in hundreds of communities across Canada and the U.S. While Gilgan is noted as one of the country’s most successful entrepreneurs, it is his commitment to philanthropy that truly sets him apart. Both personally and through the Peter Gilgan Foundation, his lifetime donations supporting initiatives in health care, education, athletics, children and environmental protection now total in excess of $200 million.

“Peter Gilgan understands how to build communities. His success as a homebuilder and business person is very apparent, but his dedication to philanthropy makes him a true community leader,” said Ivey’s Acting Dean Mark Vandenbosch, HBA ’84. “His actions and generosity reflect the School’s mission to positively contribute to the societies that we operate within.”

Gilgan’s charitable contributions are extensive, including a historic gift of $100 million to The Hospital for Sick Children. It is the largest single gift ever to SickKids, and together with donations made to other hospitals and health-care organizations to date, it makes Gilgan and the Peter Gilgan Foundation the largest benefactor to health care in Canada. Other donations include $10 million to St. Joseph’s Health Centre in 2017; $30 million to St. Michael’s Hospital for a new patient care tower; $10 million towards the building of the new Oakville Trafalgar Memorial Hospital; and $40 million in 2012 to SickKids. In the education sector, his historic $15 million gift to Ryerson University supported the development of the Mattamy Athletic Centre on the site of the former Maple Leaf Gardens. He was awarded one of the country’s highest civilian honours in 2013 when he was appointed to the Order of Canada, as well as the Order of Ontario in 2012, for his business leadership and philanthropic initiatives. In 2013, he was inducted as a Companion into the Canadian Business Hall of Fame and honoured with a Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal.

“Peter Gilgan’s business and philanthropic leadership is truly inspirational and serves as a shining example of a successful individual devoted to giving back to his community,” said Darin Deschamps, HBA ’87, Head, Wells Fargo Securities Canada, Ltd. and Co-chair, Ivey Business Leader Award. 

Deschamps and Mark Whitmore, MBA ’91, Global Leader, Deloitte Private, jointly chair the Ivey Business Leader Award that will be presented at a black-tie dinner on October 3, 2019 at The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto. Proceeds from the annual event support scholarships for outstanding Ivey students.

Gilgan joins an esteemed list of past Ivey Business Leader Award recipients demonstrating leadership in both business and their communities. Please see below for past recipients of the award.

Previous Recipients