Skip to Main Content

Ivey Research Series

All presentations, except where noted, will be held at Ivey in Room 2125 and will run from 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

2018/19

Friday, September 14 Likoebe Maruping, Georgia State University
"Venture Capital Funding of Start-ups: Role of Collaboration with Open Source Communities"
IS
Friday, September 21 Ann Langley, HEC Montreal
"Ghosts! Deceased Founders as Paradoxical Figures of Continuity and Change" (working paper)
"Invoking Alphonse: The founder figure as a historical resource for organizational identity work" (published background paper)
STRAT
Tuesday, September 25 Shaker Zahra, University of Minnesota
"Industry Knowledge, Prior Industry Experience and New Venture Survival"
ENTR
Friday, October 5 Feng Zhang, University of Utah
"Vanishing Stock Dividends"
FN
Friday, October 12 Matt Bamber, York University
"The Earnings ‘Performance’: From Ritual to Meaning"
MAC
Friday, October 19 Jeff Harris, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
"Interbank Lending Networks and the Urgency to Borrow"
FN

Friday, October 19

*Held from 3:00 to 4:00 p.m. in room 2125

Sustainability Showcase
Marya Besharov, Cornell University
Tobias HahnESADE Ramon Llull University
Paul Tracey, University of Cambridge
Maxim Voronov, York University
Charlene Zietsma, Pennsylvania State University
SUST
Tuesday, October 23 Tilman Klumpp, University of Alberta
"Sequential Majoritarian Blotto Games"
BEPP
Friday, October 26 Xi (Jason) Kuang, Georgia Tech
"The Effects of Minimum-wage Increases on Firms’ Wage Offers and Employees’ Effort under Incomplete Contracts"
MAC
Tuesday, November 6
*Held from 12:00 to 1:30 p.m. in the Leender's Lounge
Derek Rucker, Northwestern University
"Persuasion, Emotion, and Language: The Intent to Persuade Transforms Language via Emotionality"
MK
Friday, November 9 Pamela Murphy, Queen’s University
"Disengagement versus Dissonance: Rationalizing Unethical Decisions with Analytics"
MAC
Friday, November 16 Kristin Diehl, University of Southern California
"How taking and revisiting photos affects enjoyment of and memory for experiences"
MK
Tuesday, November 20 Kevin Crowston, Syracuse University
"Scaffolded Training with Machines: An Experiment on Participant Learning in an On-line Production Community"
IS
Friday, November 23 Anthony Heyes, University of Ottawa
"The Effect of Air Pollution on Investor Behavior: Evidence from the S&P 500"
BEPP
Friday, November 30 Fahad Saleh, McGill University
“Blockchain Without Waste: Proof-of-Stake”
CROSS
Tuesday, December 4 Nagesh Gavirneni, Cornell University OPS

Friday, December 7

*Held from 1:00 to 5:00 p.m. in room 1380

Sustainability Conference
Jerry Davis, University of Michigan
Andreas Hoepner, University College Dublin
Janelle Knox-Hayes, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dirk Matten, York University
SUST
Tuesday, January 8 Olga Volkoff IS
Friday, January 11 Brian Jacobs, Pepperdine University OPS
Friday, January 18 Thomas J. Steenburgh, University of Virginia MK
Friday, January 25 Jay Barney, University of Utah BEPP/STRAT
Tuesday, February 5 Steven Shechter, University of British Columbia MS
Friday, February 15 Ian O. Ihnatowycz Institute for Leadership: Best Leadership Paper Award Winner for 2018
Raina Brands, London Business School
OB
Friday, February 22 Barb Flynn, Indiana University OPS
Tuesday, February 26 Dean Neu, York University MAC
Friday, March 1 Amy Ward, University of Chicago MS
Friday, March 15 Olena Ivus, Queen's University BEPP
Friday, March 22 Nan Jia, USC Marshall BEPP
Friday, March 29 P.K. Kannan, University of Maryland MK
Friday, April 5 Opher Baron, University of Toronto MS 
Friday, April 12 Soo-Haeng Cho, Carnegie Mellon University MS


Faculty Director of Research: June Cotte

Administrative Coordinator: Carly Vanderheyden