Skip to Main Content

Press Release: Ivey alumnae among Canada’s Most Powerful Women

  • Communications
  • |
  • Dec 3, 2013
Press Release: Ivey alumnae among Canada’s Most Powerful Women

Christine Magee, HBA '82, named to 2013 Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 list

The Ivey Business School is proud to congratulate our alumnae who today were named on the distinguished 2013 Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 list presented by the Women’s Executive Network (WXN).

Ivey has a strong history of being recognized on this coveted list which celebrates and highlights the professional achievements of women in across the country the private, public and non-for-profit sectors. Since 1997, 25 members of the Ivey community have been named on the Most Powerful Women list, including multiple award winners Christine Magee and Stacey Allaster.

This year’s awards will be presented at a gala dinner in Toronto on December 4where the keynote speech will be delivered by Canada’s first female astronaut in space Dr. Roberta Bondar and whose theme of the event is “What Glass Ceiling?”.

Ivey winners who have shattered the notion of the glass ceiling in their industries are completing or have graduated from the HBA, MBA or EMBA programs. This year, Ivey is represented across several categories including Corporate Executive, Entrepreneurship, Future Leaders, Public Sector, Trailblazers and Trendsetters, and an induction in the WXN Hall of Fame. Ivey is also a Gold Level sponsor of the event.


Corporate Executive Award

Anne Marie O’Donovan (HBA 1982) - Executive VP & Chief Administration Officer, Scotia Capital Incorporated

Entrepreneurs Award

Kelsey Ramsden (MBA 2004) – Owner, SparkPlay and President, Belvedere Place Development

Future Leaders Award

Jennifer Christie (current EMBA student) – Territory Manager, John Deere

Public Sector Leader Award

Leslee Thompson (EMBA 1998) – President & Chief Executive Officer, Kingston General Hospital

Trailblazers and Trendsetters Award

Stacey Allaster (EMBA 2000) – Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Women’s Tennis Association Tour

Heather Payne (HBA 2009) – Founder, Ladies Learning Code & HackerYou

WXN Hall of Fame

Christine Magee (HBA 1982) – President, Sleep Country Canada


For a full listing of this year’s award winners check out the WXN website.


About WXN

Since its inception in 1997, WXN has created and delivered innovative networking, mentoring and professional and personal development opportunities for women in leadership roles, growing into a sizable community of more than 19,000 members strong across Canada and Ireland. As of today, WXN has honoured 728 of Canada’s most powerful women and inducted 93 of these women into the Top 100 Hall of Fame.