Skip to Main Content
News@Ivey · Communications

MBA students challenged at McKinsey & Company Case Competition

Jul 2, 2014

McKinsey Case Competition winning team

The winning MBA team: Jennifer Valentini, Purab Parikh, Cam MacNeil, Stephen Reddin, and Leah Carson (missing from photo: Bryan McCulloch)

Ivey’s MBA students were challenged to deliver innovative solutions to real-world problems at the annual MBA McKinsey & Company Case Competition at the School June 25-27. 

The competition, sponsored by McKinsey & Company, involved three rounds where students were exposed to cases involving Marketing, Operations and Strategy. Working in teams, the students analyzed cases and presented their findings and recommendations to a panel of judges made up of faculty, staff, alumni, and McKinsey representatives. 

The winning team included Leah Carson, Stephen Reddin, Bryan McCulloch, Purab Parikh, Jennifer Valentini, and Cam MacNeil, all MBA ’15. 

Runners up included Team 9 (Farah Lalani, Sapna Mehta, Hussain Peermohammad, Matthew Stastny, Rory Macdonald, and Strachan Jarvis) and Team 4 (Ben Gudewill, Gina Kalboneh, Scott Carpenter, Johnavi Gavini, Haider Khawaja, and Kavya Krishna Kumar). 

“I would like to personally congratulate all the MBA students who participated in the case competition for a terrific effort,” said Fraser Johnson, Faculty Director, MBA Program, and Leenders Supply Chain Management Association Chair. 

McKinsey & Company representatives judging the competition included Federico Berruti, HBA '09, Courtney Hayward, Karim Kherani, HBA ’07, Chris Marrin, Leslie Shaw, MBA ’14, and Jeff Tung, MBA ’10. 

Ivey alumni judges included Cameron Bramwell, MBA '01, Jim Foote, HBA '89, MBA '95, Michelle Foote, HBA '88, Carmen Gicante, MBA '00, Kevin Higgins, MBA '80, Trevor Hunter, MBA '97, PhD '05, Colin McDougall, MBA '06, Jake Sherman, HBA '04, MBA '12, and Glenn Yonemitsu, MBA '89. 

MBA students with McKinsey reps

The winning MBA team with McKinsey representatives: (L-R) Jeff Tung, Purab Parikh, Cam MacNeil, Stephen Reddin, Federico Berruti, Leah Carson, Jennifer Valentini, Courtney Hayward, and Chris Marrin