Skip to Main Content

Ivey faculty and alumni received the Order of Canada

  • Communications
  • |
  • Nov 23, 2017
Ivey faculty and alumni received the Order of Canada

Left to right: Paul Boothe, Bonnie Brooks, and Pierre Morrissette

Retired Ivey professor Paul Boothe and two high-profile alumni, Bonnie Brooks and Pierre Morrissette, received the Order of Canada, along with famous Canadians such as Jeopardy! game show host Alex Trebek and the surviving Tragically Hip band members.

Governor General Julie Payette gave them medals at a ceremony at Ottawa’s Rideau Hall on Nov. 17. The Order of Canada is one of the country’s highest civilian honours for outstanding achievement, dedication to the community, and service to the nation.

Boothe was recognized for his contributions in shaping economic and fiscal policy as an academic and senior public servant. Now managing director of the Trillium Network for Advanced Manufacturing in London, he was director of Ivey’s Lawrence National Centre for Policy and Management from 2012 to 2016 and continues to teach Ivey Executive Education’s Senior Public Sector Leader Program. Prior to Ivey, Boothe was a senior official in the provincial and federal governments, promoting fiscal reform in Saskatchewan and supporting the Canadian auto industry during the financial crisis.

Brooks, EMBA ’08, is the former Vice-Chairman of the Hudson's Bay Co (HBC). She was recognized for her accomplishments in business, including revitalizing HBC and the Lane Crawford department store chain in Asia. Brooks also previously led Holt Renfrew’s merchandising and marketing functions. She was the first woman to receive the Ivey Business Leader Award in 2014.

Morrissette, MBA ’72, LLD ’10, is known for transforming the way Canadians understand the weather. He is Chairman, President and CEO of Pelmorex Media Inc., which owns The Weather Network/MétéoMédia, Canada’s leading national weather information distributor. Morrissette is also a generous philanthropist in the areas of mental health, education, and the arts, and a mentor to Ivey students through the Entrepreneurship Institute named after him. He is an Ivey Advisory Board member and received an honorary degree from Western in 2010.