Skip to Main Content

Congratulations to the HBA Class of 2020

  • Communications
  • |
  • Jun 16, 2020
Congratulations to the HBA Class of 2020

They might have been far apart in terms of distance, but Ivey’s HBA Class of 2020 came together virtually today to celebrate their accomplishments and shared commitment to ethical decision-making for the HBA Pledge Ceremony and Awards Ceremony. The ceremony had 432 graduates participate.

It was a chance to welcome them into the Ivey Alumni Network and look back at their time in the program – an experience that Ivey Dean Sharon Hodgson said is particularly memorable since they completed the program during a global pandemic.

“I know for some of you it wasn’t easy, but you’ve done it. And you’ve done it in very extraordinary times,” she said.  “I think this will be something we will remember for years and years. It’s a massive accomplishment and you all should feel very proud.”

They also heard messages from their valedictorian, Margot Ghersin, and Scott Vanderwel, HBA '98, Chair of the Ivey Alumni Network (IAN).

Vanderwel told the graduates they are now part of an alumni network that is more resilient than ever. The IAN represents more than 30,000 alumni in more than 100 countries around the world.

“My humble ask is that you lean into it and recognize that the network is here to help you, and also be helped by you,” he said.

The Pledge Ceremony tradition

A highlight of the event was the Ivey Pledge Ceremony, in which new graduates commit to the principles of ethics and corporate social responsibility and receive an individually-numbered Ivey Ring. More than 11,500 graduates have taken the Pledge and received a ring since the ceremony's inception.

Awards and accolades

The event also included academic awards and recognition for outstanding teaching. Nadine de Gannes, HBA ’09, an assistant professor in Managerial Accounting and Control, and Sustainability, received this year’s David G. Burgoyne Teaching Award for making a positive impact on student life.

Congratulations to all of the award winners:

  • HBA Gold Medal: Ethan Milne;
  • HBA Combined Degree Gold Medal: Elliott Choi;
  • R. Wood HBA Award: Kathy Wu;
  • Bob Britney HBA Prize: Fisal Aman Allah;
  • Fred Jones Prize in Finance: Kazim Naqvi;
  • Adam Wiseman Memorial Award: Teddy Kassa;
  • Michael & Stefanie Block HBA Award: Emma Juskovic;
  • HBAA Merit Awards:
    • Brian Friedman;
    • Faisal Iqbal;
    • Liam Cunliffe;
    • Lisa Chen;
    • Margot Ghersin;
    • Rahul Guggali;
    • Ryley Mehta;
    • Saad Afroz;
    • Shivani Pradhan;
    • Stephanie Tam;
    • Tyler Weatherill; and,
    • Zoe Yang.