Skip to Main Content
Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre

Advisory Board

Steve Baker
Chair of the Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre Advisory Board, and Former President, Union Gas Limited

Steve Baker became Chair of the Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre Advisory Board in December 2019. He is the former President of Union Gas Limited. He retired in 2018 after being with the company for 29 years. He is a Director of Ontario's Independent Electricity System Operator, a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario, a member of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, and a member of the Society of Management Accountants of Ontario.

Jason Fitzsimmons
Deputy Minister of Energy, Ontario Government

Jason Fitzsimmons became the Deputy Minister of Energy in October 2022. Previously, Fitzsimmons was Chief Corporate Affairs and Customer Care Officer for Hydro One, with oversight of the customer service, corporate affairs, marketing and Indigenous relations functions. With more than 25 years of experience in the electricity sector, Fitzsimmons is a highly-regarded leader with a proven track record for successfully executing large-scale transformations and building strong relationships with key stakeholders. In his previous role as Vice President, Labour Relations at Hydro One, Fitzsimmons played an instrumental role in bringing the company’s 400-employee Customer Contact Centre in-house as the company continuously strives to deliver best-in-class customer service. Prior to joining the company, Fitzsimmons was the Chief Negotiations Officer at the Ontario Hospital Association and also held a number of executive roles at Ontario Power Generation, including Vice President of Human Resources for the Nuclear division. He is a Certified Human Resource Executive known for his broad experience in labour management as well as his passion for health and safety in the workplace.

Rob Klassen
Associate Dean Research, Ivey Business School

Robert Klassen is the Associate Dean, Research, and currently holds the Magna International Inc. Chair in Business Administration. His research explores the linkages between supply chain management and sustainability, including such areas as net zero, operational risk, and social performance. He has published his research in a wide variety of leading operations management journals and has also co-authored two textbooks. He has enjoyed the opportunity to teach in both undergraduate and graduate degree programs, as well as Ivey Academy executive programs, and has written over three-dozen cases. In the past, his roles at Ivey and Western have included Associate Dean (Faculty Development and Research), University Senator, and Chair, Promotion and Tenure committee.

Brandon Schaufele
Director, Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre, Ivey Business School

Brandon Schaufele is an Associate Professor of Business, Economics, and Public Policy at the Ivey Business School. Schaufele was appointed Director of the Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre in February 2022. He is Treasurer of the Canadian Economics Association and a past Chair of the Canadian Resource and Environmental Economics Association. Brandon has consulted with companies and governments in Canada and the U.S., and has testified as an expert witness on energy economics at the Muskrat Falls Inquiry and in commercial litigation. Previously he was a faculty member in the Department of Economics at the University of Ottawa and served at the Research Director of the Insitute of the Environment and for Sustainable Prosperity.

Megan Telford
EVP, Strategy, Energy Transition and Human Resources, Hydro One

Megan Telford is the EVP, Strategy, Energy Transition and Human Resources at Hydro One, responsible for strategy, planning, partnerships, sustainability, corporate affairs and human resources. Ms. Telford is a highly regarded and passionate business leader with deep expertise in law and human resources and a reputation for building trust and strong partnerships. Ms. Telford was previously the Chief Human Resources Officer at the company. In 2022, Ms. Telford assumed responsibility for the Health, Safety and Environment teams and interim responsibility for the Corporate Affairs and Customer Care teams. Before joining Hydro One in 2020, Ms. Telford held the position of Head of Human Resources at Toronto Dominion (TD) Insurance from 2019 to 2020, and a number of increasingly senior legal and human resources roles at TD Bank since 2007. Prior to TD, Ms. Telford practised labour and employment law at a national law firm and worked at the Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague. Ms. Telford holds an Honours Bachelor of Arts in Industrial Relations from McMaster University, a Master of Industrial Relations and Juris Doctor from Queen’s University and she was a law clerk for Justices Stone and Strayer at the Federal Court of Appeal.

Almas Kassam
Director, Strategic Engagement, Cenovus Energy

Almas has more than 20 years of experience in various roles in the oil and gas industry. Prior to her current role, Director, Strategic Engagement for Cenovus Energy, she has worked in investor relations, communications, stakeholder relations & Indigenous engagement, supply chain management, corporate planning, and sustainability. Almas has a Bachelor of Arts in Communications with a minor in Travel and Leisure. Almas has previously served on the Board of the Canadian Heavy Oil Association and on the Steering Committee for Energy Futures Lab.

Jeff Parnell
President, Power Workers' Union

Jeff Parnell is an electrician by trade and has been employed with Ontario Power Generation (OPG)/Ontario Hydro for 30 years. His activism with the PWU began in 1991 when he was elected as a Shop Steward. Over the years Jeff has fulfilled the roles of Health and Safety Representative, Health and Safety Accident Investigator and was the Chief Steward in Unit 2-12 for seven years before his election as Executive Officer of the PWU in September of 2016. He swore his Oath of Office on June 22, 2017 at the PWU Election Convention.

Terry Young
Senior Advisor, Bruce Power Net-Zero Inc.

Terry Young is Senior Advisor, Bruce Power Net-Zero Inc. Terry has more than 30 years of experience in Ontario’s electricity sector, including an extensive career at the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO). Most recently, he held the position of Interim President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO), leading the IESO through its ongoing response to the COVID-19 pandemic and setting a path forward for the acquisition of resources to address emerging energy.

Christopher Vivone
Director, Government Relations, TC Energy

Chris Vivone is Director of Federal Government Relations Canada at TC Energy. Chris has extensive experience in Public Affairs and Government Relations working previously at Edelman, Cisco Systems, Hill & Knowlton, and The Railway Association of Canada. He holds an MBA from Cornell and a BA in Political Science from the University of British Columbia

Connect with Ivey Business School