Skip to Main Content

Regulatory Reform in Ontario's Energy Sector

May 21, 2019, 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Ivey Toronto Centre

View map
Event EC 21052019 Photos 042

(L-R) Guy Holburn, Ivey Business School; Vinay Sharma, London Hydro; Karen Taylor, CCRE;
Richard Dicerni, Ontario Energy Board; Cynthia Chaplin, CAMPUT.

The government of Ontario is initiating legislative changes to the governance and operational framework of the Ontario Energy Board, based on recommendations from the OEB Modernization Review Panel that were released on March 18, 2019. The proposed reforms are intended to improve regulatory effectiveness by enhancing the OEB’s independence, accountability, and efficiency.

Join us for an expert panel discussion on the report, legislation, and implications for Ontario’s energy sector, with Richard Dicerni, Chair of the OEB Modernization Review Panel; Cynthia Chaplin, Executive Director of CAMPUT; Vinay Sharma, CEO of London Hydro; and Karen Taylor, Vice Chair, Council for Clean & Reliable Energy. The panel will be moderated by Professor Guy Holburn, Director of the Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre.

Tuesday, May 21st
4:00 - 5:30 p.m. Panel Event  |  5:30 - 6:30 p.m. Networking Cocktail Reception
Ivey Toronto Campus, 130 King St. W.

Click here for the full event program

The Ivey Energy Policy and Management is pleased to partner with the Council for Clean & Reliable Energy for this event.



Richard DicerniRichard Dicerni was Chair of the Ontario Energy Board Modernization Review Panel in 2018, a panel which was established by the Ministry of Energy as a one-year advisory body, to consider the appropriate mandate, role and structure of a modern energy regulator. Richard was Deputy Minister of Alberta Executive Council and Head of the Alberta Public Service from 2014 to 2016. He is also an Adjunct Professor at the Ivey Business School. Born and raised in Montreal, he graduated from the College Sainte Marie in 1969 with a Bachelor of Arts. He pursued graduate studies at the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard where he earned a Master’s in Public Administration in 1981. He started his career with the federal government in 1969. In the 1970s and 1980s, he held a number of executive positions in the federal public service including Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Health and Welfare; and Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet. In 1992, he joined the Ontario Government as Deputy Minister of Environment and Energy. In 1995, he assumed the position of Deputy Minister, Education and Training. In 1996, he was appointed President and CEO of the newly established Canadian Newspaper Association. He left this position in 1998 to become Senior Vice President at Ontario Power Generation (OPG). He stayed at OPG for the next seven years and led the company between 2003 and 2005. He rejoined the Canadian Government as Deputy Minister of Industry where he served from 2006 to 2012. He has served on the boards of Trent University, the Credit Valley Hospital, Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd. (AECL) and the Public Policy Forum.


Cynthia ChaplinCynthia Chaplin is Executive Director of CAMPUT, the Canadian Association of Members of Public Utility Tribunals. She is a member of the IESO's Board of Directors, and has served as Chair and Vice-Chair of the Ontario Energy Board. Cynthia has more than 30 years of experience as an energy economist, consultant and regulator in Canada and the United Kingdom. She is an expert adjudicator, having presided over complex, multi-party oral hearings and policy consultations and having served as Chair of CAMPUT. She has also held senior positions with British Petroleum, Amoco and the United Kingdom's natural gas regulator. She holds a Master's degree in economics from the University of Toronto and the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.


Vinay SharmaDr. Vinay Sharma has been the CEO of London Hydro since August 1, 2009. He was Chair of the Electricity Distributors Association from 2017 to 2018, and is currently Vice Chair of the MEARIE Board. Prior to joining London Hydro in 1998, Vinay worked with Saskatchewan Power Corporation for seven years in various capacities including Distribution Planning, Power Procurement, and Marketing. Previously, Vinay has worked as a consulting engineer with Cambrian (now AMEC) and as an Assistant Professor in Electrical Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan. Vinay has a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering and is a Professional Engineer in the provinces of Ontario, Alberta, and Saskatchewan. He has also obtained a M.Sc. and Ph.D. from the University of Saskatchewan, an MBA from the University of Regina and he has been a Chartered Director since 2008.


Karen Taylor

Karen Taylor is Vice Chair of the Council for Clean & Reliable Energy, a non-profit organization that provides a platform for public dialogue and analysis on subjects related to energy policy and governance. She is also an Executive Fellow with the Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre. Karen has over 25 years of relevant senior executive financial and energy experience. She was a top-ranked equity analyst for 16 years with TD Securities and BMO Capital Markets covering the pipeline, energy utility and power generation sectors. She also served as the Executive Advisor to the Chair of the Ontario Energy Board and was a Member of the Ontario Energy Board, the independent agency that regulates and determines rates for Ontario’s natural gas and electric transmission and distribution utilities in the public interest. In addition, she served as Special Advisor to the Chair of the Ontario Securities Commission. She is also an independent energy consultant to industry and investors, with deep experience in capital markets, regulatory policy and infrastructure investing.




  • Tags:
  • Guy Holburn
  • Events
  • Brian Rivard
  • Brandon Schaufele
  • Adam Fremeth
  • Richard Dicerni


Panel Events