Skip to Main Content

Ben Graham Centre's 2020 International MBA Stock Picking Competition

April 14, 2020

Donald K. Johnson Centre, King Room, First Canadian Place, Toronto, ON

View map
2019 SPC

The Ben Graham Centre for Value Investing was to hold its annual International MBA Stock Picking Competition in Toronto on April 14, 2020. Round 2 of the event was cancelled due to COVID-19.

Teams from MBA schools from around the world were to compete for $14,000 in cash prizes. Three finalist teams were to make presentations in Toronto to a panel of distinguished value investors. On April 15, the finalist teams were to attend the Ben Graham Centre’s Value Investing Conference where the winners were to be announced. On April 16, the finalists were also to be invited to attend the Fairfax Financial Holdings Ltd. Annual General Meeting at Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto, ON. 


Competition Round 1 Finalists

Three teams were selected as Round 1 Finalists to participate in the Competition finals that was to be held on April 14, 2020 in Toronto, Canada. Unfortunately due to COVID-19 the event was cancelled and a consolidation prize was awarded to all three teams. (In alphabetical order)

Columbia University - Columbia Business School
Team members: Eric Tse, Ruth Chen, Ronald Ma

Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad
Team members: Krunali Shah, Arpit Lahoty, Anirudh Swaminathan

Yale University - Yale School of Management
Team members: Jonathan Wong, Andrea Sugano, Shuangyan Zheng

Participating Schools

The following schools registered in the 2020 International MBA Stock Picking Competition and contributed to the Competition’s success. Schools that participated put forward excellent research reports in the first round of the Competition making the judges choices for the final round challenging:

  • Carnegie Mellon University - Tepper School of Business
  • China Europe International Business School
  • Columbia University - Columbia Business School
  • ESADE Business School
  • Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology - Sloan School of Management
  • Northwestern University - Kellogg School of Management
  • University of Cambridge - Cambridge Judge Business School
  • University of New Brunswick - Faculty of Management
  • University of Stirling - Stirling Management School
  • University of Waterloo
  • Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Western University - Ivey Business School
  • Yale University - Yale School of Management
  • York University - Schulich School of Business

Learn More about the Competition

Thank you to our Donors

We would like to thank our donors Burgundy Asset Management Ltd., Bristol Gate Capital Partners Inc., Carol & Brahm Steinberg Family Fund, Peters MacGregor Capital ManagementRobotti & Company Advisors and Stacey Muirhead Capital Management for their generous support.

A group of logos including Burgundy, BristolGate, Carol & Brahm, PetersMacGregor, Robotti and Stacey Muirhead

  • Tags:
  • Value Investing