Skip to Main Content
News@Ivey · Communications

Celebrating Ivey’s faculty contributions to research, the classroom, and service

May 8, 2019

Knowledge of the world - faculty awards

At the annual Faculty Retreat on May 7, Ivey faculty were honoured for making an impact in research, the classroom, and service.

The faculty awards presented at the retreat recognize those who are helping to build Ivey’s reputation for excellence. In total, 19 faculty members received awards.

And the winners are…

Research awards

The Bridge Award
The Bridge Award went to two faculty members in the Management Science Group: Associate Professor Mehmet Begen and Assistant Professor Bissan Ghaddar. This award recognizes research that has impact beyond the traditional Social Sciences Citation Index categories of Business and Management.

Begen received the award for his work on surgery block scheduling. Some of his papers are the first in this field and he has published in both traditional academic outlets and in clinical and medical journals.

Ghaddar’s research focuses on problems at the intersection of smart cities, the Internet of things, and optimization models. This research has been highly influential and Ghaddar already holds several grants for her work in this area.

Early Career Impact Award
Ivey’s Early Career Impact Award, which acknowledges early career research impact, went to Assistant Professor Xin (Shane) Wang. Wang’s research focuses on how digital analytics will change the business world and some of his marketing strategy topics, such as Bitcoin and movie piracy, are generating a lot of interest. Wang has been published in a variety of journals, has a great citation record, and has received external awards.

Academic Impact Award
The Academic Impact Award went to Assistant Professor Kirk Kristofferson in the Marketing group. This award recognizes highly-cited articles published in a management journal. Kristofferson received the award for the article he wrote with co-authors Katherine White (University of British Columbia) and John Peloza (University of Kentucky), “The Nature of Slacktivism: How the Social Observability of an Initial Act of Token Support Impacts Subsequent Prosocial Action,” which was published in the Journal of Consumer Research in 2014.

Research Merit Awards
The Research Merit Awards recognize Ivey’s outstanding faculty who have demonstrated productivity and achievement in Financial Times research publications, which are one important measure of research success.

Here are the 2019 recipients:

Teaching awards

MBA Faculty Award/Lawrence G. Tapp Excellence in Teaching Award
The MBA Faculty Award/Lawrence G. Tapp Excellence in Teaching Award was established by the MBA Association in 2003 in honour of former dean Lawrence G. Tapp, and is presented annually to two faculty members. This year’s recipients are Assistant Professor Romel Mostafa and Lecturer Wayne Adlam.

The David G. Burgoyne Teaching Awards for HBA and the Carol Stephenson Award for Outstanding Teaching/EMBA Teaching Award are forthcoming and will be announced at a later date.

Community Service Award
There was a new Community Service Award this year, to replace the Faculty Outstanding Service Award from previous years. The Community Service Award recognizes excellent service to the Ivey community. There are four recipients: